My Favorite Podcasts

DSC_0022 (1)-1

I love podcasts and one of my favorite ways to relax is to knit and/or crochet while listening to a podcast. In this post I list some of  my favorites. Are you a fan of podcasts? Then let me know in the comments what some of your favorites are.

You Must Remember This

This is a podcast about the history of  Hollywood’s first century. I am intrigued by Old Hollywood and Karina Longworth is such a good story teller. The lives of these people are so compelling. Listening to this podcast makes me want to watch more movies from the 1930’s to the 1950’s. From this podcast, I have become fascinated by Joan Crawford and I want to watch some of her movies.

Big Magic

This podcast is hosted by Elizabeth Gilbert, the author of Big Magic. This podcast expands on ideas from the book of the same name. She interviews and tries to help people who are struggling creatively. Then she interviews a successful artist to get their take on the same problem. I find this podcast inspiring and it has some good advice.

Lore

I am fascinated by myths, the paranormal and creepy stories. I highly recommend this podcast if you have similar interests. In each episode, the host Aaron Mahnke will talk about a myth, creepy stories from history, or how a haunting, or story in a specific area affected that area. For example he did a episode on a specific incident during the Salem witch trials and about a waterway near the Vancouver Sea in Canada where a lot of ships crash; people have said they have seen a haunted ship in the area .

Craft-ish by Vickie Howell

This podcast is a series where the host interviews and has a conversation with various creative types and entrepreneurs. She is a good interviewer and I enjoy hearing the stories of creative people that I admire.

Woolful

In this podcast, the host, Ashley Yousling talks to a wide variety of people in the fiber industry. She has interviewed designers, yarn dyers, farmers, and spinners, weavers and more. The podcast focuses on one person and their personal journey to doing what they do now in the fiber industry. The tone is casual like two people having a conversation and the host’s passion for fiber arts comes through in every episode.

Leave a Reply

