Why I Almost Quit Twitter

018

In the past week, the actress Leslie Jones was badly harassed on Twitter. She received a lot of racist tweets and she retweeted some of them to let people know what she was dealing with on a regular basis. Here is an article about the situation. It made me think about my own experiences with Twitter. I thought about quitting after watching what Leslie Jones Went through. I decided to stay because I would miss the positive interactions  I have on the site.

For the most part, I have enjoyed Twitter. However, I am often scared that I will get harassed or bullied for something I posted because I have seen people endure horrible harassment on the site. Anne Wheaton left Twitter for a while after the harassment she received became too much. Right after she left, she talked to people at Twitter safety and attended a symposium they  did.

 I have been on Twitter since 2009. I joined because I was curious and a bunch of crochet designers I admired had joined the site. I really enjoyed it. I found a lot of craft and crochet sites to follow. I quickly realized you can learn a lot about a topic from twitter. You follow one person and can see who he/she follows. If you want to know what is happening on the news you can follow news sites and and see more news updates than you could ever read. You can read about an event in the news as it is happening. Often a big news event will start trending on Twitter the moment it happens. If you are interested in a topic.You can follow the leaders in the topic and see what they are saying and what information they are sharing.

 Twitter can also be a great place to meet people with similar interests. Unlike real life you can jump in and chat with someone you never met. If you see someone saying something interesting, you can reply to that tweet and that will often start a conversation. I have met other crocheters and knitters on Twitter and have enjoyed chatting with them. There is a core group of people I chat with on Twitter who have been very supportive. I love that I can interact with interesting people I never would meet in real life. One friend I met on Twitter gave me some great blogging advice. I also learned abut periscope, and knitting patterns and books I want to check out. I have mixed feelings about Twitter. There are some scary people harassing and bullying others and Twitter doesn’t do nearly enough about it. On the other hand there are also some good people on the site and you can learn a lot from Twitter. 

Leave a Reply

