Mitered Squares

mitered 1-0007 One of my current projects is this scarf I am making using the mitered square technique. Mitered squares get their shape from decreases in the middle of the row you are currently knitting. A lot of knitters will make blankets out of sock yarn using this technique. The book, Knits from a Painter’s Palette made me want to learn how to make mitered squares. This book is well worth checking out. The patterns are lovely and I love how creative the designer was in using mitered squares and modular knitting. I decided to make a patchwork scarf. instead of a blanket.

mitered 1-0006

 I didn’t make the squares the way the book recommends. I used the instructions from this pattern. I also found this tutorial helpful. Before I started, I did a web search on mitered squares and found out there are several ways to make them. At first, I was concerned that I wasn’t doing it correctly. I asked for advice on Ravelry and was told to make them the way I feel comfortable. I decided I was most comfortable with the technique listed in the above pattern and tutorial. I originally was going to make the scarf using scrap yarn. I started the project and ran out of the purple yarn I was using and had to buy more. Then I bought some dark grey to add a neutral color.

With mitered squares, you can either make the squares and sew them together later or you can join them as you go. At first I made a bunch and sewed them together. Then I figured out how to join them as I go and I prefer that technique. The video above has instructions on how to join as you go starting at 8:40. The earlier half of the video shows a couple of other ways to decrease in the middle. I enjoy making mitered squares. Once I got the hang of it, they are not difficult to make and I can be creative with how I put the colors together. 

Leave a Reply

